Figurative Language

Posted on Updated on

We had some fun practicing the use of figurative language using metaphors, similes and personification in class yesterday. Today, I would like to share these. Please respond to one or as many  of the prompts as you want. After your prompt, state what kind of figurative language you used. For example: “Juliet is like the sun.” (simile)

Please be kind to your teacher!!!!

How are you like a flower?

How are you like a rock?

How are you like an old shoe?

My best friend is ……

My teacher is ……..

26 thoughts on “Figurative Language

    tierra said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:01 am

    I am like a flower because I need water.

    I am like a rock I’m steady when focused.

    I am like an old shoe because I smell after gym class.

    My mom is like a heart because she is full of love and care.

    My mom is a heart because she is full of love and care.

    My best friend is like a world of sugar.

    Tristan said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:03 am

    I am Steady and I grow slowly like flower.

    I am focused and hard to break like a rock.

    I am like an old shoe because I am worn out and torn a part after gym.

    My best freind is like a rock focused and never gives up.

    My teacher is like a rock strong and will never quit on us.

    Malcolm said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:03 am

    I’m like a old shoe, people use me and throw me away. (Simile)

    I’m like a rock, I never move when focused until I’m moved. (Simile)

    Atmn said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:04 am

    I am like a flower, because I need water every two hours.
    I am like a rock, because I am slow when focused, and strong when focused.
    I am like an old shoe, because I smell (sometimes) after gym.
    My best friend is an artist who always surprises me and doodles all the time.
    My teacher is like a rock, firm and strong.

    Rose said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:05 am

    I am like a flower gentle, small, and kind.

    I am like a rock still when concentrating.

    I am like an old shoe thrown away when I got use too much.

    My teacher is as gentle as a bird.

    My friend is like a puppy small, kind, and playful.

    nathan said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:05 am

    I am like a flower because they grow and we grow each and every day.

    I am like a rock because they stay still and we stay still if needed to.

    I am like a shoe because they stink and we stink if we go to the gym.

    My best friend is like a bolder because he can stay still.

    My teacher is like a friend because he is kind.

    Cherise said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:05 am

    My teacher is like my dad, that doesn’t take excuses.

    I am like a rock, I am silent and still when I’m focused.

    Damien said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:06 am

    I am like a flower because I am always growing.

    I am like a rock because I am hard to break.

    I am like an old shoe because I am ripped apart.

    My best friend is like an old shoe because he is thrown away after his use.

    My teacher is like a rock focus and ready.

    Kadi-Rose said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:06 am

    I am like an old shoe, people get tired of me when something new comes along.

    My best friend is like a diary, I can tell her my secerts and know that she won’t tell anybody.

    My teacher is like a judge, he doesn’t take excuses from anyone.

    Tom said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:06 am

    I am a rock because I am steady and focused

    My best friend is like a dog always dependable.

    I am like a flower because I am open to new surroundings

    My teacher like a coach keeps me on task

    I am like an old shoe you can rely on me to get through the day

    Gemma said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:07 am

    My best friend is like a spider. She is smart, and brave, but can be easily crushed.

    I am like a flower in the sesne that I can be quiet, and lonely.

    I am like an old shoe. I am tattered up and ruined after being worn out.

    My father is like a bird. Cooperative, and free.

    zachery said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:08 am

    I am like a flower because i am colm and quite.

    I am like an old shoe because sometimes i stink and sometimes i dont.

    my best friend is like a diary because they can allways hold secrets.

    My teacher is like a parent because he is kind and carring.

    allana said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:08 am

    My best friend is like a sister in need or something that’s a attached to me.

    I am like a rock when I am steel and forces.

    I am like a flower by being colourful in the morning and hiding at night.

    I am like a old shoe growing up and getting wrinkles

    Dawson said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:09 am

    I am like a rock, I do not move when I play my games or when I watch TV.

    My teacher is like a rock, he’s hard on me to get stuff done, and when I don’t he’s heavy on my case to get it in to him.

    skylar potinteau said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:09 am

    My teacher is like a rock, he is heavy on me when i don’t finish my work.

    I am like a rock, i do not move and i am heavy.

    Jakob said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:11 am

    My best friend is like a rock because he is tuff and he stands up for me. My Mom is like a flower because she is nice gentle and sweet.

    Derrick said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:11 am

    I am like a flower, I can survive changes.

    I am like a rock, you hit me, it doesn’t hurt.

    I am like an old shoe, I don’t get worn-out easily.

    My best friend is like a bird, he flys by.

    My teacher is like a dictionary, ask him about a word, he knowsthe answer.

      Tom said:
      April 21, 2011 at 2:34 pm

      Knowsthe?

    Aleia said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:13 am

    I am like a flower because I bloom in beauty.

    I am like a rock because I never move when I watch T.V.

    I am like a old shoe because i grow older each day.

    My best friend is like a rat sneaking around behind your back.

    My teach is like a boss he bosses me around to get things done.

    billy said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:13 am

    I am like a flower beautiful smell and beautiful color.
    I am like a rock big, sharp, heavy, and quiet.
    I am like a old shoe old, smelly, torn apart, and rusty.

    My best friend is like a flower kind, gentle, and sharing it’s smell.

    Simile Jakob is like water calm and quiet.

    Metaphor Jakob is water.

    Money is like gold calm, purpose and sharable.

    matt said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:14 am

    I am like a sun flower im tall as a person (all similes)

    I am like a rock like an muscle

    I am like a old shoe all torn up and throwin away

    Trent said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:14 am

    My best friend is fun like a ball and he’s crazy like a hyena
    My friend is tuff like a rock.

    Dakota said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:15 am

    I am like a rock because when I am focus I am soled as a rock

    My best friend is a bike he likes to keep going

    My teacher is a bolder because he’s hard on work to get get done

    jack said:
    April 14, 2011 at 11:18 am

    I’m like a flower because in the spring I like to shine.

    I’m like a rock because I’m strong, I will not move when I’m forced too and I will not be sad wen I get hurt.

    I ‘m like an old shoe because my feelings are ripped apart.

    My best friend is like a toilet dirty disgusting and rude.

    My teacher is like a bolder strong tall and fearless.

    Mr. Purdon responded:
    April 14, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    My students are mirrors, showing me everyday that I’m not perfect!

    My students are like my own child, forever testing me, yet rewarding me with their insight.

    Mr. Newton said:
    April 16, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    Hello grade 5’s and 6’s,
    I love your metaphors, similes and personifications. I miss St. James and Thunder Bay. I’m in Florida now and it’s really hot. It’s as hot as an oven (simile). I was in the sun all day today and I got a little burnt. My friend says I’m a lobster (metaphor). I was swimming in the ocean today too. It was really warm and the waves were high. The ocean was angry. I thought she was going to swallow me (personification).
    Keep up the good work!!!!
    Mr. Newton

Leave a Reply

