Book or Movie?????

Posted on Updated on

Sam and I have been reading the Harry Potter novels lately. We are currently on the Goblet of Fire. After reading the book we then of course watch the movie. Sam has certainly noticed how things are different between the movie and the book (huge differences in The Goblet of Fire). Sometimes things from the book are entirely left out and other times the movie has things in it that the book didn’t mention. This is quite common when someone takes a books ideas and puts them up on the silver screen. I know that I like a good movie, but I’m usually disappointed by the movie. My imagination is better.

My question is What do you think…. Book or movie? Also, have you noticed differences between any? If so explain what.

12 thoughts on “Book or Movie?????

    Tom said:
    May 13, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Usually I like the book better because it lets my mind create what I think the book characters look like and what their personalities are. But with the movie it confines you to what the actors look like and what the director or whoever reads the books imagines them and what they act like.

    Malcolm said:
    May 13, 2011 at 10:54 am

    I like to movies better because, well, frankly I only read 1 or 2 books and I saw all of the movies, so, yeah… I’m for the movies, until I read more of the books.

    Tristian said:
    May 13, 2011 at 11:03 am

    I think reading is better than movies. I think that because I like to think the characters in my head. I like to think the the characteristics by myself not by the actors. Like in Percy Jackson and the Olympians series Anabeth is blond but I picture her as a Brunnete. And I didnt see the movie.

    Atmn said:
    May 13, 2011 at 11:06 am

    I like the books better, unless the book is clear as mud and the movie make more sense. The movies screw things from the book pretty bad, mostly because: 1. Not enough time. 2. Not enough resources. 3. Don’t want to. For example in Goblet of Fire movie, they skipped the whole quidditch match, and they also didn’t show winky, the kitchen and any of the other details.

      Mr. Purdon responded:
      May 13, 2011 at 11:10 am

      Poor Winky and the elves. I can’t believe they weren’t in the movie either!

    Atmn said:
    May 13, 2011 at 11:09 am

    I like the books better, unless if the book is clear as mud and the movie make more sense. They usually skip things in the movie, (mostly) because: (1) Not enough time (2) don’t want to, and (3) not enough resources.

    tierra said:
    May 13, 2011 at 11:13 am

    Hello, I like the movies better then the books because i like watching moives and I dont really like reading unless it is a good book like the book called Drums Girls & Dangoures Pie.

    Teryn said:
    May 13, 2011 at 11:13 am

    I like the books better, because the movies normally leave out the best parts that were included in the novel, which I dislike. Although, it is interesting to see things that you didn’t expect you would see (like what a character REALLY looks like, etc)

    Allana said:
    May 13, 2011 at 11:16 am

    I say the book is better becaues you get imagation fro the book and it feels like you are in the book that is why i say the book is better.

    Gemma said:
    May 13, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    I personally like most books better because they let me think what I want to think. Movies make your mind get a completely different image as to what is happening at which part. I like to have my own image, and my own opinion. Movies don’t let me have that freedom, so that is why I like books better. Oh, also I would rather read a book than watch a movie. 🙂

      Mr. Purdon responded:
      May 13, 2011 at 1:43 pm

      I’m with you too Gemma!

    billy said:
    May 13, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    Hi Mr. Purdon well deeply I say that the Harry Potter movie is better than the Harry Potter book the reason being is because in the book you can imagine but the movie says if you are right or wrong and plus it gives you your result for your pics in your head so I say movie better sorry to everybody that may disagree to me but think of it you actually get to get more interested in the movie than the book like you’ve got to be kidding me who in the class likes the books better than the movies it’s my opining I know but I just like the movie better than the book…
    Billy

Leave a Reply

