Letter to Margaret Peterson Haddix

Posted on Updated on

I thought for this post we could practice an EQAO writing task as well as get some of our thinking about this series on paper.

I would like you to draft a letter to Margaret Peterson Haddix about her books in The Shadow Children sequence. This should be in a semi-formal or friendly letter format. In the letter you should explain your reasons for writing, what you specifically like about the books and characters as well as questions you might have.

Remember the format:

 1. Salutation 2. Introduction 3. Body of letter (power write these 3 paragraphs) 4. Concluding sentence      5. Closing.

I’m looking forward to your letters.

21 thoughts on “Letter to Margaret Peterson Haddix

    Mr. Purdon responded:
    May 27, 2011 at 10:53 am

    I thought I could leave an example here for you to use!

    Dear J.K. Rowling,

    Hello. I really wanted to drop you a line and tell you how much my son Sam and I have been enjoying your Harry Potter series.

    I guess first and foremost I’m curious where your ideas for your novels come from. When I read them I’m reminded of Tolkien and Lord of the Rings as well as medieval times. Where did your ideas for the Harry Potter series originate? Did you have any influential works that gave you the idea? No matter, what a world you have created. Sam is so involved in it that he casts spells on me daily, especially when he is angry!

    Also, Sam and I have noticed some big discrepancies between the novels and the movies. How do you feel about this? It seems that The Goblet of Fire has the most. Why is it that the producers chose to leave out Dobby who save Harry in the second challenge and was so important in the book? We don’t even get to see Dobby in this movie or any of the other elves. I wish the producers saw the importance of this character!

    Do you have plans for any other works? I can imagine that such a series must mentally drain an author. I truly hope that you write another novel or series. Sam does too.

    Thank you for taking the time to read my letter. Sam and I will read until we are done the series. We have no choice!

    Sincerely,

    Neal Purdon

    Tom said:
    May 27, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    May 27th, 2011

    Dear Margaret Peterson Haddix,

    Hi, our class is currently reading your Among the Hidden novels and we are really enjoying it. I am writing this letter because I have a few questions for you.

    First of all, why did you start writing? Have you wanted to write all your life, or did you just try it and you really enjoyed it so you decided to pursue it as a career?

    Secondly, how did you think of all the characters? Did you get an idea from a family member or did you just think of them, I would really love to know, it’s just amazing how you could put so many details into describing Luke’s feelings and features.

    Thirdly, movies. Are you ever going to make any of your books into movies? If so who will play Luke?

    Thank you for your time,

    Sincerely, Tom

    Gemma said:
    May 27, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    May 27, 2011
    Dear Margaret Peterson Haddix,

    Our class is currently reading your series called The Shadow Children. Before this, we read Found which was also a very good book. After that, I read Sent and Sabotaged on my own.

    I just want to say that you are an AMAZING author. My class and I absolutely adore your writing. I like the tension building strategy you use to finish the chapters. I also like the part when Luke jumps off of the stairs and all of a sudden Jason says “They have no idea that I work for the population police.”

    I think everybody would enjoy it if you would made another novel. We all love your stories.

    Thank-you for reading my letter! 🙂

    Your bigest fan of all time, Gemma

    Tristan said:
    May 27, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    May27th2001

    Dear Margaret Peterson Haddix,

    Our class is currently reading your series Shadow Children right now we are reading Among the Imposters.

    I would like to know where this series takes place, when it takes place, why is there a child law, who made the child law. I made well based guesses and I think it takes place in Europe in the Future. Probably the President made the law for 3rd children. Your novels remind me of a mix of books like The Hunger Games, Holes, and many more I cannot remember.

    I also want to know where you got the ideas for your books. Like what gave you the ideas for your books.

    Also, I think your books should be a little bit more adventurous, I think that because people are more into adventure novels.
    The class likes to read your novels Shadow Children it is a good series.

    Rose said:
    May 27, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    Friday 27 May 27, 2011
    Dear Margaret,

    Hi I’m Rose and my class is reading your book Among the Imposters.

    I was just wondering how you got the ideas for this series. Did you get it from a book that you read once? Your books are really cool! How long did it take to write your books? Must have taken a long time!

    Your books are really good! And I was thinking that maybe you can put the books into a movie because that would be really cool!

    I have tons of ideas for the other books, maybe you can have Luke’s kids and then the problem happens again but Luke has to help his kids and help other third children. That would be really cool. And another one would be among the shadow children and Luke would not have to hide but he would have to help set free other shadow children.

    We love your books and we hope you make another book or another series.

    Sincerely

    Rose

    Atmn said:
    May 27, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    May 27th 2011
    Dear Margaret Peterson Haddix,

    Our class is currently reading the Shadow Children sequence, and I am really interested.

    Where did you get the ideas for the people in the series? Were they based on people you knew? New personalities with the people you know or what? Also, where did you get the idea for such a community? Were you inspired by anything? Did you get the idea from the China population law?

    Are you planning to make a movie? If you do, please try to make sure that the movie does not leave out some major events like Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, hopefully they have some comedy scenes (in the school) when the teachers say “Two demerits, young man.”

    Did you write other novels like Shadow Children Sequence? If you did, can you please include a list in your return letter? What books do you like to read before you were an author?

    Sincerely,
    Atmn

    tierra said:
    May 27, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    Friday, May 27, 2011

    Dear Margaret Peterson,

    Mr.Purdons class and I have been enjoying your books.

    I was wondering later in the future will you be making movies to all your books you made? Or did you all ready make movies for your books? If so I bet that your movies will be awesome! They will probably be like your book except with some difference. The book we are reading right now is Among the Imposters. Our class has already read Among the Hidden. Me and another girl named Aleia are going to read your whole series. I bet you they will be good.

    Will you make more books? Also if you were going to make more books what will you call them. I was thinking if you make another book you can call one of them Among the Free. After a couple of minutes My friend Aleia said that you already have a book in your series called Among the Free.

    My questions that I have to ask you are… how did you end up coming with the shadow children series? Are you going to end up making movies? How old were you when you wrote the series?

    I loved reading you series of books.

    Sincerely Tierra

    Teryn said:
    May 27, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    May 27th 2011

    Dear Margaret Peterson Haddix,

    Hello. My class and I have been reading your novels, and now I would like to ask questions, get some advice, and share an emotion I’d felt while reading one of your books.

    I’m curious to know what the lesson is in Among the Imposters. If there is one, how can you infer it? What lines in the book most show this lesson? I’d really like to hear what it is.

    I’ve found your books rather intense. I was always asking myself ‘oh boy, what’s Luke going to get himself into this time?’ and ‘can he/she be trusted?’. Fortunately, you always answer them precisely.

    I plan on becoming an author as well. Do you have any tips? And is there any good way to get some inspiration? It would be great to know such things, and I would really appreciate your feedback.

    Thank you for taking your time to read this letter. I love your novels, and if there’s another one around, I will be sure to read it any chance I get.

    Yours truly,
    Teryn

    zachery said:
    May 27, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    Dear Margaret Patterson Haddix,

    I am writing to you because I wanted to ask you questions about your books (the shadow children).

    Were did you get the ideas from? Did you get them from the real world? Why did you think of putting all of the shadow children in a school with no windows and mean teachers?

    Also I wanted to ask you how did you think of the books did you get them off movies or the internet nor maybe your friends? Why did you want your books to be about hidden Childs?

    My favorite part in the book among the imposters was when luke (lee) found out that jackal boy was one of the third children too and all of the other kids that jackal boy hung out with.

    Thank you for reading my letter I hope you like it.

    By: Zachery

    Malcolm said:
    May 27, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    Friday 27 May, 2011

    Dear Margaret Peterson Haddix,

    The class is reading you’re Shadow Children series
    I just wanted to say though, I love your books. The Shadow Children Series is a huge success to me. But anyways, we feel many different things about Hendricks School for Boys, like suspicious that there’s no windows, and the leader of the Hall Monitors, Jason (Jackal Boy as referred to Luke Gardner,) when we found out he was a Population Police agent we we’re pretty much dumbstruck by it.

    Secondly, I think you should turn a couple novels into movies. It would be great as a movie; I could picture it in my mind. I think that would be awesome. It would have so many viewers! Plus it would have good ratings I would think.

    Thirdly, I want to talk about shadow children. I want to know, how did you think of shadow children in the first place? I would think a country somewhere. What do you think it would be like to be a shadow child? It would be terrible hiding in an attic or basement or something like that for 18 years at the minimum. Also you’d have agoraphobia (afraid to be outside) for like, 1-3 more years. But I really do love your Shadow Children Series.

    Sincerely,
    Malcolm

    Billy said:
    May 27, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    Hoops Friday, May 27, 2011

    Hi I am here to write a letter to tell you about this book called Hoops is very most likely interesting because it has a lot more details then any other books that I have read from so far about the NBA sports.

    I have 3 questions to be answered number one is who got you interested in writing a book by you on Hoops? The second question is why you chose Hoops to write about maybe because so you can get kids more involved in basketball then they already are.

    Last but not least if there is a reason why you thought about writing about this book it’s probably because you think people would actually like your book which is very true all I am trying to say is you did a terrific job on this very cool book Hoops.

    Nathan said:
    May 27, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    May 27, 2011

    Dear Margaret Patterson Haddix,

    Our class is reading your books the shadow children they are really good series. I am writing to you because I have a couple questions to ask you. Also because I want to know a couple things about your books the shadow children we all think the books are really good.

    Since we like you books a lot just wondering how many books do you have and are you going to make more? Because we would like to see what happens thru out the series. My favourite won is book one because I like when he finds another shadow child.

    My other question is that how did you think of coming up with the shadow children series because it is a really good series. Also because it would be awesome if they were in movies and be cool in action.

    I liked reading your books a lot.

    Sincerely,

    Nathan

    zachery said:
    May 27, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    Dear Margaret Patterson Haddix,

    I am writing to you because I wanted to ask you questions about your books (the shadow children).

    Were did you get the ideas from? Did you get them from the real world? Why did you think of putting all of the shadow children in a school with no windows and mean teachers?

    Also I wanted to ask you how did you think of the books did you get them off movies or the internet nor maybe your friends? Why did you want your books to be about hidden Childs?

    My favorite part in the book among the imposters was when luke (lee) found out that jackal boy was one of the third children too and all of the other kids that jackal boy hung out with.

    Thank you for reading my letter I hope you like it.
    Dear Margaret Patterson Haddix,

    I am writing to you because I wanted to ask you questions about your books (the shadow children).

    Were did you get the ideas from? Did you get them from the real world? Why did you think of putting all of the shadow children in a school with no windows and mean teachers?

    Also I wanted to ask you how did you think of the books did you get them off movies or the internet nor maybe your friends? Why did you want your books to be about hidden Childs?

    My favorite part in the book among the imposters was when luke (lee) found out that jackal boy was one of the third children too and all of the other kids that jackal boy hung out with.

    Thank you for reading my letter I hope you like it.

    By: Zachery

    By: Zachery

      Aleia said:
      May 30, 2011 at 11:05 am

      By: Zachery

      By: Zachery ????????

    katie said:
    May 30, 2011 at 10:53 am

    May 27, 2011

    Dear Margaret Peterson Haddix:

    Hello. Our class loves your shadow
    Children sequence.

    We have all if you’re books and we all
    like your bookies because they have
    and I like them because they have
    good novel.

    When I read your books I like the all the
    And we are reading the 2 book and it is
    really good and I like it when he has to
    go to school .

    When I here your story I like it and your
    class because it has an interesting novel
    in the book and it has interesting things.

    Your books rocks. Sincerely Katie

    Damien said:
    May 30, 2011 at 10:53 am

    May27, 201

    Dear Margaret Peterson Haddix:

    Hello our class loves your shadow children sequence.

    We have already read you’re among the hidden and loved it so our teacher Mr. Purdon asked, us if we wanted to read the second book and we all voted yes and it is actually better, than the first book.

    Among the impostors is a good title the title is a really good title and readers would want to read the book so when they read it they will say the title is worth the book and it will catch a readers eye but when the reader starts reading the book they will be happy they chose that book.

    And how long did it take you to write all seven books do you enjoy wirting children books or do you do it to make money that is the only question I have.

    Sincerely

    Damien

    Damien said:
    May 30, 2011 at 10:53 am

    May27, 201

    Dear Margaret Peterson Haddix:

    Hello our class loves your shadow children sequence.

    We have already read you’re among the hidden and loved it so our teacher Mr. Purdon asked, us if we wanted to read the second book and we all voted yes and it is actually better, than the first book.

    Among the impostors is a good title the title is a really good title and readers would want to read the book so when they read it they will say the title is worth the book and it will catch a readers eye but when the reader starts reading the book they will be happy they chose that book.

    And how long did it take you to write all seven books do you enjoy wirting children books or do you do it to make money that is the only question I have.

    Sincerely

    Damien

    allana said:
    May 30, 2011 at 10:56 am

    2011-05-27

    Dear Margaret Patterson Haddix,

    Our class is reading your books and we have some questions.

    Where did you get your ideas for the novels? Are they from the real world? Or did you get them from the movies? I will like to know

    Why it is always “among” stuff like Among the Hidden or among the impostor and why Among the Impostor and it is’s not really about impostor.

    Like the book Among the betrayed because Nina finds this other kids that are in jail with Nina and they all run away from the jail and go in the woods and then she saw Lee Grant and then the population police comes but doesn’t go back to jail.

    Our class enjoyed your books.

    From Yours truly

    Allana

    Aleia said:
    May 30, 2011 at 11:03 am

    Friday, May 27, 2011

    Dear Margaret Peterson,

    My teacher Mr.Purdon and I have bin reading your books at school and I have some questions for you about your books.

    My class and I are reading one of your book called Among the Impostors. I find that your books are very attracting and I can never stop reading it is so interesting.

    I would like to ask you if you are going to make movies. In my opinion I think you should make one movie with all the books in one so people don’t have to watch all 7 movies.

    Also, I would like to ask you are going to make more books. I think it would be great to make more books so I can read more.Thank you, for the time out of you day to read my letter. I ❤ love your books.

    Sincerely,

    Aleia

    Dawson said:
    May 30, 2011 at 11:08 am

    Dear Margaret Peterson Haddix

    Are class has been reading your books (Shadow Children) I am writing to you to give you some of my ideas.

    I think you should make all the books into moves, and if you do you should make the characters like you described them like: Luke Garner, jackal boy and jen.

    Also you should make more then 7 books like 9 books, it would be cool because then it would go on for two more good books then you could have some big twist or something like that at the end.

    Finely I would like to ask how did you come up with the Shadow Children sequence, did some thing spark you did some one give you the idea or did you think of it.

    Thank you for your time.

    Sincerely,
    Dawson

    Kadi-Rose said:
    May 30, 2011 at 11:11 am

    May 27, 2011

    Dear Margaret Peterson Haddix,
    Our class is currently reading your shadow children series. It’s great, we love them. I just wanted to write this letter to ask you a couple questions.

    For starters, I’d like to know how you came up with the idea on the story line. Did you get your ideas from a different series? Or did you get them from a personal experience? OR, from a country like China. Because China also has a population issue that you can only have a certain amount of children.

    Another that I wanted to know is what made you keep writing the series? Did you get a lot of letters asking you to write more, and more? A giant flush of ideas you just had to put on paper?

    Last question. Are you planning to make it into a movie? Like they did with the Harry Potter series?

    Sincerely,

    Kadi-Rose

Leave a Reply

