Moving On

Posted on Updated on

I just got a fax from two former students of mine, Willa and Arly, explaining that they are both going to be doing the Valedictorian speech for their graduating class at Vance Chapman. Not only was I honoured, but very proud to be asked to attend! Like I told them both, even though you move on, you will always be students of mine! However, it got me thinking about my grade 6 students now who will be moving on to Vance or elsewhere next year. I want to know what you think about this transition. Are you scared, excited, sad, happy? Please leave your comments here on how you feel about moving on next year. 🙂

17 thoughts on “Moving On

    chevydog said:
    June 24, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    Hi Mr. Purdon well me I will be going to Vance Chapman and I will miss everybody and even you mostly so yah bye for now and by the way I am scared because this is my home school and I been here like since gr.1 or even sk so I will miss this school and you…

      chevydog said:
      June 27, 2011 at 3:28 pm

      Hi Mr. Purdon yes I will be missing everybody including the gr.5’s well soon to be 6 but 5 anyway the one thing that I’ll miss well not my number one thing by it will have to be gym because of dodge ball. And also blogging too…

    allana said:
    June 27, 2011 at 8:23 am

    Iam happy and sad i am sad becuase. Iam going to miss my friends but, I am happy becuase I moving on to a new school and i am going to meet new friendsand teachers.

    Atmn said:
    June 27, 2011 at 8:23 am

    I don’t really feel anything. I am used to moving from place to place, school to school, it barely affects me. I don’t really know how other’s feel but it is normal for me.

    Tristian said:
    June 27, 2011 at 8:24 am

    I am alot of things nervous, scared, excited. I am excited because im going to make new freinds. I am scared because it is a bigger school. I am nervous because I am nervous

    Tom said:
    June 27, 2011 at 8:24 am

    I am a bit nervous because its a totally different school, but excited because itts a new school and there more people to make friends with. but mopstly sad because I have been at this school all my life and I am going to a different enviorment

      chevydog said:
      June 27, 2011 at 3:01 pm

      Sorry Tom but not too much different environment…

    Malcolm said:
    June 28, 2011 at 7:52 am

    It makes me feel excited but sad becuase I have good memorys here, but I’m excited because I’ll make new ones at Vance.

    katie said:
    June 28, 2011 at 7:54 am

    I am going to feel sad because I like this calss and because I made
    new frainds in the school and the teachers and thats why I am
    going to feel sad when I move schools.

    Dakota said:
    June 28, 2011 at 7:57 am

    I feel okay with moving becuase im kinda use to moveing…To new places and new schools…Also im going to make more and new friends…

    Zachery said:
    June 28, 2011 at 8:03 am

    I am gong to feel sad because most of my friends are going to be moving to a new house and a new school!! i wish that there could be a grade 7 and 8 at this school because i would be able to see my friends still but whatever happens just happens.

    Jakob said:
    June 28, 2011 at 8:04 am

    I am sad because I do not want to leave the school. And I am scared because I am going to be near different kids or teenagers.

    Matt said:
    June 28, 2011 at 8:05 am

    Im going to be soooooooo happy because moveing schools is so awesome and im not going to miss every buddy but so peaple…..

    Trent said:
    June 28, 2011 at 8:08 am

    I am happy in 2 ways because i still will be abole to see my friens and i am getting out of this school

    Teryn said:
    June 28, 2011 at 8:08 am

    I’m far from being scared. Solaine, Brooke, and Giselle, former students of Mr. Purdon, told me pretty much everything about Vance so I’m prepared. I’m also content, since I’ll be reunited with good friends that used to go to St. James.

    Oh, and I know this is irrelevant, bur for those who are struggling with French, you might have to practice a lot this summer because at Vance the French teacher expects you to speak fluently.

      Emma.A. said:
      June 28, 2011 at 1:08 pm

      Hey Teryn,

      I’m glad you’re not scared! When you go to Vance next year you will probably be in my cousin Serena’s class. She looks just like me but she looks like she’s 14. She is really nice and if she’s in your class she will probably want to be your friend. You can tell her that I would be really happy if you were her friend! ADVICE: Since I just moved schools last September I have some advice for you. Don’t be scared, act natural, and just stay calm. Since you know people it will be much easier. You’ll make friends in no time!

    Shaynah said:
    September 16, 2011 at 8:33 am

    Katie, if your going to vance next year,I know how much you want to see Annika but she will be in high school by the time you get there.

Leave a Reply

