Every picture tells a story, don’t it??

Posted on Updated on

Today’s post title comes from an old Rod Stewart song, and is not a typo!!

There’s an old saying that a picture says a thousand words. Well today, you are to find those words for the following picture! After you have completed your OWI chart, please post a paragraph to explain what you have inferred from the picture. I want to know what is happening and why it is happening. Make sure to back up your thinking with evidence from the picture and your own ideas.

18 thoughts on “Every picture tells a story, don’t it??

    Katie said:
    October 5, 2011 at 8:42 am

    What I infer is that the people looked mad on there face and the kid looked happy .The people had black skin and the other people had white skin .I think the girl was going to a school and it was for only black skin people that can go to school . I think the black and the white skin people can go to school because it is not friar for the people and so every body can know a lot of sutff.

    Damien said:
    October 5, 2011 at 8:42 am

    My picture was from Harris Burdick.
    I think in mrlindens library that the lady is sleeping in a fancy room. I think this because in the picture the lady is on the bed with her eyes closed and she has a book because she might, be reading it and then passed out in her bed room and the room looks really fancy there are leaves on the book. But the light was left on so I don’t like how she left the light on she could be waking up and put the light on and then passed back out or she was reading and then left it on while she read so she can have some light to read with.

    Cody said:
    October 5, 2011 at 8:45 am

    From the picture I have observed a large crowd in the back that looks angry. I wonder if there angry because she is a dark skinned girl entering a school. I think this because in the background someone is holding a sign saying “KEEP THIS SCHOOL WHITE”. I also think this because the clothing looks very old like around the 50’s where people were racist to dark skinned people back then. I also observed the clothing that she was wearing because back then those cloths were not cheap. So I inferred that she was rich enough to join the school.

    dandre said:
    October 5, 2011 at 8:50 am

    I think in this picture Ruby Bridges there is a girl that goes to an all white school and the adults don’t like it the adults are angry and one person has a sign that says KEEP OUR SCHOOL’S WHITE. I wonder how old, ruby bridges is and why it is it such a big dell that she goes to school. I infer that she is going to school and people are protesting it and they are mad. I observe that she is black and they are white and they don’t want black people at there school. I wonder why they are so mad everyone has the right to go to school. And everyone needs and education to be smart and get a good job. I infer that she has a wealthy home because look at her clothes they are fancy. And if she was poor she would have rags. Ruby Bridges is a girl that is not afraid to go to school even if everyone thinks it is not right stand up to what you believe.

    By Dandre

    MEGHA SHAH said:
    October 5, 2011 at 8:51 am

    THE STORY OF RUBY BRIDGES

    I think this story is about a girl opening a new school, because in the picture I see a woman with a chart saying that KEEP THE SCHOOL WHITE! But than some people in the picture look angry and some look happy. But I think of that the girl can’t go to school and wanted to. Than when she did go to school every body didn’t wanted her to go the school with there children. So that’s why I think about the girl and a school.

    BY:MEGHA

    Gemma said:
    October 5, 2011 at 8:54 am

    From the information that was given, I infer that Ruby is being discriminated against because she has a different skin colour. I know this because someone is holding a sign that says “keep this a white school”. Also, there are adults holding back kids who are presumably protesting against Ruby going into the school. From that, I can tell this takes place in the “olden days”. That is what I infer from the information that was given.

    Kadi-Rose said:
    October 5, 2011 at 8:56 am

    By the picture I was provided with, I infer that Ruby is being judged by her skin colour. I know this because the picture that is shown has a picture of Ruby walking into what looks like a school, with a people that have a different skin colour behind her protesting. I’m pretty sure they’re protesting because one person’s holding a sign that reads “keep this a white school”. That’s why I think that she’s being judged by who she is. Personally, I don’t think it really matters what she looks like, nor should it matter to the parents. I only say this because, they don’t go to the school and it’s not like having a child of a different race that’s in the same school as your child is gong to affect your child’s grade.

    Oscar said:
    October 5, 2011 at 8:57 am

    UNDER THE RUG

    I think this book is about a man how is mad because the man is
    holding a chare over his head .I think the man is going to throw
    the chare .I also see a bump on the ground to. I think it’s a dog
    because its shaped like a dog.

    markus said:
    October 5, 2011 at 9:05 am

    Ruby Bridges. There is a little girl dark skin named Ruby Bridges she is a parson just like you. Why is there a lot of poeple in the back raund yelling at the little girl? It is proble a angry mob. Why is there a angry mob? Why whites?

    Bryson said:
    October 5, 2011 at 9:06 am

    From the picture I observed that there were 7 or 8 year old girl was going to school. I know this because people in the back held up a sign that said “KEEP THIS A WHITE SCHOOL”. Also every were wearing 1950’s clothes so that explains why people were being so racist.

    Shamael said:
    October 5, 2011 at 10:00 am

    RUBY BRIDGE
    I see in the picture a little girl is leaving with her bags. She does not feel scared, but she is angry because people are screaming at her, they want her to leave. They do not like her because she has black skin and they have a white skin. So the thought she is different than them, but she is not.

    Jessy! said:
    October 5, 2011 at 10:03 am

    In the picture, I can tell some facts by just looking at it and not reading it. For example, I saw a girl walking into a school. By knowing this I can tell it has something to do with school. I can also see protesters in the background and they look mad. I can tell they don’t like her by there facile exasperation. The girl looks as if she is making a difference and she looks proud. The rest of them, look like she is doing a crime. That is how I can tell most things that are going to happen in the storey.

    austin said:
    October 5, 2011 at 10:09 am

    In the picture Ruby bridges I can infer that the people don’t want a black girl to go to there school. I believe this because there is a woman with a sign saying “keep this a white school.” I believe that she will make a change in that community. I think she deserves to go to school!!!

    Zachery said:
    October 5, 2011 at 10:10 am

    In the picture I can infer that the white kids don’t want a different color girl to go to a school when they all are white kids. Also I can infer that it was a sunny day out and that the white kids were really mean to the black kid. When people are mean like that that means that they are racist.

    Raja said:
    October 5, 2011 at 10:11 am

    In the picture of the story, Ruby Bridges it looks like she is walking into a school. I think this because in the picture she is holding a school bag. But what I don’t get is why there are so many people behind her and why is one of them holding a sign in her hands? Maybe there holding the sign in there hands because there protesting.

    Hunter Russell said:
    October 5, 2011 at 10:18 am

    I think Ruby Bridges by Robert Coles is about acceptance. I think this because, in the picture there is a young black girl walking through a school door and behind her there are people that look mad throwing food and holding a sign saying “Keep this a white school”. People back then didn’t let black people go to school, so if a black person was seen on school property they would have been put in jail. Until they issued a document letting black people go to school that’s when people started to get crazy when ever a black man or women on the street some people would throw food at them some people would beat them up. Back then it wasn’t good for black people police men had to walk them over to places it wasn’t even safe in there own home. So you can see after what I wrote this is probably what the book is about.    

    Rose said:
    October 5, 2011 at 10:21 am

    The title picture of the book The Story of Ruby Bridges by Robert Coles, I observe a sign that says “keep this a white school”, I wonder if the city doesn’t want to have African Americans in their lives and for a long time. Also, I observe that there is only one African American person. I wonder why there is only one. Finally, I observe that the white people are booing because an African American is going to school and that she is changing the city, and I am proud of her.

    Tristan Nevala said:
    November 4, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    OMG awesome book my teacher Mrs. Bowles just read that to us it is amazing!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

