A Horse With No Name

Posted on

Music is a wonderful thing. It soothes us, pumps us up, creates memories, and sometimes just passes the time. When we listen to music, as when we read, we make mental images based on the lyrics. Today I would like you to grab some headphones, plug in, and listen to the following song. After you have listened to it, use the “What I see” chart to read over the lyrics and write your visions. You may listen to it more than once. Lastly, I would like you to write a descriptive paragraphing explaining what you saw as you listened, and post your mental images.

A Horse With No Name, By America

27 thoughts on “A Horse With No Name

    Nadia said:
    October 7, 2011 at 8:16 am

    what I see when I listen to this song is….. a horse and a lonly man riding in the desert just riding in circuls just playing a bango singing. Then I see another man doing the same thing.

    Jessy! said:
    October 7, 2011 at 8:17 am

    When I listen to this music, I can see someone on a horse,in a desert.The pepole are riding him and now theres rocks and trees and a lake.Its beautiful and clam fish swimming in the lake.The horse jumped into the lake and became a fish with no name.Sweet candy,clouds of pink shades, and the horse comes back to a horse.Then suddenly, there in the desert.That is what I saw when I listened to this song.

    Adam said:
    October 7, 2011 at 8:22 am

    For the first part i see A man standing in a huge field just walking in circles
    in the second part a guy sleeping on a horse walking none stop throught the desert
    in the third part i see a guy staring at a old river that isent there any more
    in the fourth part i see a guy sleeping on a horse walking none stop through the desert
    in the fith part i see a guy swimming in one spot for hours
    in the sixth part i see a guy sleeping on a horse walking for hours

    Raja said:
    October 7, 2011 at 8:24 am

    When i listen to the song horse with no name. I saw a little boy who saw a horse but then the horse ran away from the boy in a lake.So then the boy got really mad so his skin truned red. but then the horse wanted to be friends with the boy so they became freinds but the horse had no name.
    so the boy named him.

    taylor said:
    October 7, 2011 at 8:26 am

    i see a hourse with no name and a boy that had a hourse and it ran away from him. And stepped on him.

    Shaynah said:
    October 7, 2011 at 8:26 am

    As soon as I heard that song “A horse with no name” I pictured 3 men on horses. 1 of the men had long blonde hair, on a horse that was white, and blue eyes. That was the lead singer. The first back singer had short black hair on a horse that was brown and had green eyes. The last back singer had brown hair on a black horse and had brown eyes. The sun was setting and the sky was all orange. They were also in a desert riding the horses and the music was coming out of a cactus. 🙂

    maria said:
    October 7, 2011 at 8:29 am

    i see that the man is in the desert and went to a dead town that is dryed out andwhile he was whit his horse he seen a river but it wasn’t a river it was a mirache on the sand it happends whenn you get tired and thirsty.

    micheala said:
    October 7, 2011 at 8:30 am

    From this song i seen a hourse running through water and a little boy on his back smilling and laughing. Saying “YAH” And the hourse has no name so the little boy gave him a name and said ” your new name is Nero”

    Rose said:
    October 7, 2011 at 8:31 am

    for the song I see Neil Young walking through the desert and he is rididng a horse and playing his guitar and singing this song. I also see him at the oceanand being relieved to see water but unhappy because he cant drink it. 🙂 😀

    Aleia! :) said:
    October 7, 2011 at 8:31 am

    when I listened to the song I was thinking of a man on a hourse in the desert and he was randomly singing and also I think that the man got so hot and he wished to go into the rain. 🙂 :l

    Hunter Russell said:
    October 7, 2011 at 8:33 am

    When I heard this song I listened to the singing and pictured in my mind about what might be happening in the desert with the man on a horse with no name. I pictured in my mind the man was in the desert after being in the rain, this might example that he took his feelings and put in a song and it’s like I can understand his feelings.

    By Hunter Russell

    Katie said:
    October 7, 2011 at 8:34 am

    I see a man on a horse and he is running through the desert and the man and the horse playing his guitar and he is sinning a song about him and the horse in the desert . And he was sinning about his life with a horse with a horse with no name.

    austin said:
    October 7, 2011 at 8:38 am

    I see the bottom of a horse with legs down the side and its walking. I see the man playing the banjo and singing. The sun hotter than the oven of life! And the only life is a hock and a fly. And the horse has no name.

    Cody said:
    October 7, 2011 at 8:51 am

    When listening to the song A Horse With No Name I saw like a jungle in the begging with vines and large trees, and some snakes. As the song continued I started to see a desert kind of like Egypt, and a man riding in the distance on a camel, as it progressed I saw the river that he was talking about kind of like a small little river with no water just a ditch of sand and rocks.

    Kadi-Rose said:
    October 7, 2011 at 8:53 am

    When I listen to this song I picture of an old Western movie. There’s an old man on a horse, in the middle of nowhere. He’s thirsty, sunburned, and tired. When he reaches water, he lets the horse run free.

    leo said:
    October 7, 2011 at 8:55 am

    When I listened to the song I seen a man on a horse with no name in the dessert and he likes to play a banjo and sing songs.

    Zachery said:
    October 7, 2011 at 8:58 am

    When I hear this song it sounds like it is going to be a sad song at first but later on I see a guy with a horse traveling in a dessert looking for a river bed. Also I see a guy that is meeting bugs on his journey through the dessert.

    Gemma said:
    October 7, 2011 at 8:59 am

    When I hear this song, I imagine a man riding a horse into a dust storm in the middle of the desert. On his way, he is passing by desert flowers while a single vulture is seemingly leading the dust towards the man. This man is willingly giving up his life for no reason other than to prove bravery and courage. This is what I see when I listen to this song.

    shamael said:
    October 7, 2011 at 9:00 am

    When I was hearing the song, “A Horse With No Name” I saw plants and birds singing and rocks. There was green hills and sand. I saw the sky with no clouds. The ground was dry and there was no one was there except for horses with no names. After nine days the desert turned to sea.

    Damien said:
    October 7, 2011 at 9:00 am

    in the song A Horse With No Name I saw someone on a black horse and they were peacefully trotting through the desert with lots of water and food supplies and they went by a cactus and there crows and eagles in the sky and they looked so sad and over heated the horse gave up and they both walked through the desert.

    Thomas said:
    October 7, 2011 at 9:01 am

    In the song A Horse With No Name, I saw a person walking peacefully in the desert pleading for water. I also saw the person crying because he didn’t have any company. At the end of the song when the person found a horse I saw that the horse was lonely.

    Yolanda sinoway said:
    October 7, 2011 at 9:05 am

    When iI heard the Horse with no name I thought they were in a dessert with different kind of creatures. The next day the dessert went to water and then the person let the horse go because they were there was going to be a flood.

    Bryson said:
    October 7, 2011 at 9:07 am

    In the song A Horse With No Name what I see is a man looking in the desert for water but all he can see is birds, plants, rocks, and sand. Also I saw the man found a horse so they traveled for days then he let the horse go so the horse so it might find water

    Oscar said:
    October 7, 2011 at 9:08 am

    While listening to A horse with no name I seen animals and tree and rock with flowers .I also see mist in the air and snow. I think the song happens in the winter because the song sounds like that. I think there are rabbits jumping around the dessert

    markus said:
    October 7, 2011 at 9:09 am

    When I hear the song I thought it was a good song because it felt like a lullaby. I see a desert with flat ground. I also see 12 cactuses and camels. I think that whoever sung the song they have a good voice.

    wiliam said:
    October 7, 2011 at 9:10 am

    When I hear this song I saw a man who was in a desert with a horse with lots of dead land with dead plant and a wind of sand every with dead bird and dead with fish.

    dandre said:
    October 7, 2011 at 9:11 am

    When I listen to the song A Horse With No Name I think of a place where they are describing and I think of the people that were in the story and what kind of wild life what are the animals in the area. When I think of this I think of a desert with weird and bizarre animals.

Leave a Reply

