Making Connections to Ruby’s Wish

Posted on Updated on

This week we have been working hard on making connections to a text. A good connection to the another text, to our self, or to the world around us is not always that easy. Remember, a good connection is one that helps us better understand the text we are reading!

Today, I would like you to use your idea sheet from yesterday to explain some of the connections you made and how they helped you better understand the text. For example, when we read Oliver Button is a Sissy, we saw that liking pizza was not a useful connection, however, remembering being bullied is a great connection because it helps us understand the characters feelings.

So let me hear those Text to Self, Text to Text, and Text to World connections to Ruby’s Wish and how they help you better understand the main idea!

23 thoughts on “Making Connections to Ruby’s Wish

    Rose said:
    October 14, 2011 at 8:24 am

    In the book Ruby’s Wish my connections are only text to text. The connections I made for text to text was that it reminded me of Amazing Grace, because Grace wanted to be peter pan, and she did. Also, in the text she wanted so bad to go to university and she did. That’s why I had text to text connections to Ruby’s Wish and to Amazing Grace.

    Katie said:
    October 14, 2011 at 8:25 am

    This reminds me of walking on a road and I like the colour red . I was practicing my hand writing at home. This reminds me of the pink lamp at home in my room. My own ideas is they called her Ruby because she likes the colour red and it was not fair when the boys were playing and the girls were working on the kitchen I think the boys should help in the kitchen with the girls.

    Thomas said:
    October 14, 2011 at 8:30 am

    I think the main idea of “Rubies wish” is “if you’re a boy or a girl, you should get the same opportunities”. In the text it stated that the boys got to play when they got off school, while the girls had to learn how to cook and take care of the house, the boys got to go to university, but the girls were married. This is why I think “if you’re a boy or a girl, you should get the same opportunities.”

    My connections were that my sister got accepted into university of Ottawa for text to self
    My text to text connections were in The Royal Bee Song Ho wanted to go to school too, just like Ruby.

    Gemma said:
    October 14, 2011 at 8:36 am

    A text to self connection I made while reading Ruby’s Wish was that I have a large family, and sometimes I feel left out because they don’t include me in certain activities. She is feeling left out for a different reason, but I still get where she is coming from. A text to text connection I made was that Song-ho and Ruby were both accepted into school when they weren’t theoretically supposed to be. A text to world connection I made was that in some other countries, girls still aren’t allowed to go to school. Those are the connections that I made while reading the book Ruby’s wish.

    Damien said:
    October 14, 2011 at 8:37 am

    Some of the connections I made while reading the book Ruby’s Wish were text to self, text to text, text to world. Some connections I had compared to my own life is that I have a lot of things in common to her such as I really like how she wrote the poem about the boys and tells her grandfather. Some text to text connections I made were to the book Tea with Milk and Sugar, because the girl did not want to get married to a man she would rather marry a catfish than a man. Some connections I had was that China is a very spoiled country but Ruby just can not get that because she was just young and that.

    Cody said:
    October 14, 2011 at 8:37 am

    Some of the connections I made from Ruby’s Wish was a text to self from when I found out my great grandma had 13 kids, and in the story there was many kids as well. My text to text for Ruby’s Wish was Rough Tough Charley. I think this because in Ruby’s Wish the girls had to stay home and cook and had no freedom, and in Rough Tough Charley girls could not vote or drive a stage coach, so in both books the girls were limited to what they could do. For my text to world I picked the Middle East because the girls are limited to what they can do, for example they must do what there husbands tell them to do, and are stuck inside because they can’t really go out, and if they don’t follow what the husbands say and they are killed so they can’t really do much.

    Zachery said:
    October 14, 2011 at 8:38 am

    Some connections I made to myself while reading Ruby’s Wish were that my friends Grandma has 12 kids and those 12 kids have children now. This book reminds me of rough tough Charlie because Charlie wanted to be a boy so she could drive and do all of the other stuff that the boys did and Ruby wanted to do what the boys did in her family so she could go to university and other stuff.

    Raja said:
    October 14, 2011 at 8:39 am

    Some of my connections to Ruby’s Wish from text to text are
    When Oliver Button and the Amazing Grace had a wish, and it
    Came true just like Ruby’s wish. My connections to text to world
    Are when sometimes I go walking and I see big families, just like Ruby’s and sometimes most of the girls have got lots of red on just like ruby had lots of red on.

    leo said:
    October 14, 2011 at 8:43 am

    think the main idea in Ruby’s Wish is that u should treat everyone the same. I think that because in the text the boys were getting treated better than the girls.
    This reminds me of Oliver button because Oliver wanted to stuff that the girls wanted to and ruby wanted to do what the boys wanted to do

    Hunter Russell said:
    October 14, 2011 at 8:44 am

    Well, Mr. Purdon was reading Ruby’s Wish I made some connections to text to self and text to text. When I made text to text this book reminds me of The Royal Bee. This reminds me of this because in Ruby’s Wish, girls weren’t allowed to go to university, in The Royal Bee poor people weren’t allowed to go to school. How this book is text to self to me, when I was little I thought that my little sister was more important then me, in Ruby’s Wish Ruby thought that all the boys in the house were more important then the women because the boys always get the better things then the girls. Also when Mr. Purdon was reading I was thinking to my self what was the main idea in this book. So, I think the main idea is it doesn’t matter if you’re a boy or a girl you can accomplish anything you want to. 

    Kadi-Rose said:
    October 14, 2011 at 8:44 am

    The text to self connections I made to Ruby’s Wish is that my grandmother has eight children and the man’s wives had many children. This story reminds me of the book The Royal Bee because it was also based on not being able to attend school for personal reasons. Although, Song-ho couldn’t go because ‘he wasn’t worthy enough’, and Ruby couldn’t go because she was a girl. Either way, it has the feel to it.

    Yolanda sinoway said:
    October 14, 2011 at 8:48 am

    Some of the connections that I have on the book Ruby’s wish are .I seen a movie and there was a girl and she had a dream that she could see something but she didnt get to do what she wanted.Ruby wanted to go to university but she told her grandfather that she wanted to go to university but she can now.

    Bryson said:
    October 14, 2011 at 8:51 am

    .From the book Ruby’s Wish my text to text is the book The Royal Bee because song-ho wanted to go to school to. My text to world reminds me of the 1920s gold rush because lots of Chinese men went to America for the gold rush. My text to self is my grandma because she has seven children.

    maria said:
    October 14, 2011 at 8:51 am

    this remindes me of a girl who didn’t go to school but she read lots of books and she got smarter and smarter.this remindes me of when i wanted to go to china when i was little.this reminds me of a girl who is from china and she moved to canada and stayed in toront

    micheala:0!!!!! said:
    October 14, 2011 at 8:55 am

    Text- text : I picked a book called” Rough Tough Charley”because they both were girls and they had a dream to do boy stuff and they ended up doing the boy stuff they wanted to do. Text- world :
    In china alot of people can have that much kids. In china lots of people dressed in red for there wedding day. Girls didn’t know how to read or write. Girls get married and boys go to university. Main idea: I think the main i dea is whatever gender you are you can do what ever you want. I know this becasuse in the text Ruby really wants to go to Unversity buther grandfather does not want her to get married.At the end her grandfather gives her a red envelope and in it is a letter from the university and that was her dream. To go to university and she was the only girl there!

    BY: MICHEALA

    austin said:
    October 14, 2011 at 8:56 am

    My text to text connection from Ruby’s wish is rough, tough, Charlie because both of the girls did what they wanted to do. My text to self connection is when my brother was 2 he got all the attention like the boys in ruby’s wish.

    taylor said:
    October 14, 2011 at 8:56 am

    Some connections I made to myself while reading rubes wish is that I get many in a envelope just like her. This reminds me of royal bee she wanted to be good to and Rough tough carlie she wanted to be good at some thing to.

    Nadia said:
    October 14, 2011 at 8:59 am

    My text to text was the royal bee. My text to text is the royal bee because songho wanted to go to school but he couldn’t just because he was a different kind of person then the others, and ruby, wanted to go to school but she couldn’t just because she was a girl. My text to self is…this reminds me of me because I like to read and write just like ruby and I think school is important. My text to world is.. In the old days girls were not allowed to go to school because they had to get married , clean the house and take care of the children, while the men on the other hand got to vote and go to school. 

    shamael said:
    October 14, 2011 at 8:59 am

    While I was reading the book “Ruby’s Wish” I made a connections from my own life and connections from text to text. The connections from my own life are that I enjoyed reading books, I like to learn new things and I also love to write to express my feelings. The connections from text to text is that Ruby’s Wish reminds me of Olive Buton when he never gave up and also Ruby, she never gave up she did what she want to do. My questions are: Why did they hire a teacher? What did she mean by the poem? Is she going to the university or she is going to marry? Is it a real story?. Finally the main idea is: it does not matter if you are different than the others do what you want to do.

    Oscar said:
    October 14, 2011 at 9:05 am

    I think the main idea of Ruby Wish is that girls should get the same respect as boys because Ruby said all the different ways that boys got more attention. I don’t think it is fair that boys get to do more things than girls do.

    Some connections I made text to text were to the book Oliver Button because Oliver Button wanted to dance but his dad said to play baseball instead. Ruby wanted to go to university but she couldn’t because the boys only could. At the end Ruby was allowed to go to university because she got a letter.

    Aleia! :) said:
    October 14, 2011 at 9:05 am

    I think the main idea of the text is if you keep trying and trying and you will get some were in life. I think this because in the text it says Ruby kept trying and trying and worked very hard and she got to go to university.
    Text – Text : (The Royal Bee) I picked this book because they both (Ruby and Song-hoo) were both accepted. song-hoo was poor and got to go to a rich school. Ruby was a girl and got to go to a boys university.
    Text-Word : In china alot of people dress in red it is there tredisinal colour. Alot of wifes in china stay home and cook and stay home and watch the children. 🙂

    sorry I dont have own ideas in main idea and I dont have a Text-Self 😦 😦 😦

    Shaynah said:
    October 14, 2011 at 9:07 am

    This text kind of reminds me of me because In the text it said that Ruby wanted to be a boy because they got to go to university. But me, I have a different reason why I want to be a boy.I want to be a boy because They get the better p.j s.While the boys get red and cool pajama’s,the girls get pink Hannah montana pajama’s.The boys also get the better toys.They get pokemon and transformer’s and we get barbies and tea sets.But most girls dont complain about this. But me, I’m a tom-boy! 🙂 Oh, and I think the main idea is “never let go of your dreams.”I think this because Ruby never let go of hers. She had a big dream to go to university. She never ever let go until………It came true!! 🙂

    chaslee said:
    October 14, 2011 at 9:25 am

    Today Mr. Purdon was reading a book called Ruby’s Wish it was about a girl name Ruby her father was really rich and he had lots of kids some of them got married.
    Some of them had kids and they all lived in a big house. Ruby’s father got a teacher so the boys went to the class and Ruby too. The girls had to go to cooking class and they had to learn about cleaning. Ruby got older her father said to Ruby “Soon you have to leave the house Ruby” and Ruby said, “but father I don’t want to leave the house”. Ruby’s teacher said to the father Ruby’s art work and math work Is really good. It was Rubies last Christmas with her family so her family gave her a red bag full of money her father gave her a note and it was a university note and it said we would like to have Ruby to go to university as our first female so ruby went to university.

Leave a Reply

