Ruby Bridges

Posted on Updated on

Okay, we have spent a lot of time on answering our Ruby Question. We started off by working in pairs to answer it, then we gave each other descriptive feedback, then we answered it again as partners, and finally we did a gallery walk.

Now it is time for you to take all those ideas and all that learning and apply all by yourself to show your learning. So here it is again:

Ruby Bridges went to Frantz School every day for those first months when the angry crowds were there. How do you think Ruby felt going to school all by herself with an angry mob to greet her? Use information from the text and your own ideas to support your answer.

18 thoughts on “Ruby Bridges

    Andrew said:
    October 12, 2012 at 10:03 am

    I think Ruby Bridges felt relaxed because in the text it said that she walked passed the angry mob with a smile on her face and that proves that she felt relaxed when they were threatening her.
    If I was in Ruby’s shoes I would try to be as relaxed as I could be because if you act all scared they would just know that you would back down soon and they would yell very loud until you didn’t come.

    Thomas said:
    October 12, 2012 at 10:04 am

    I think Ruby Bridges felt brave while going to school all by herself because in the text, Ruby had a smile on her face when se showed up at school. This proves that she didn’t care about the angry mob at the school to greet her and that se was brave

    If I were in Ruby’s position, I would feel sad because there are hundreds of angry people at the school waiting for me. I would also feel sad because I can’t ignore people who are racist against other races other than their own. Therefore, Ruby was really brave ignoring the mob there to greet her.

    chloe said:
    October 12, 2012 at 10:12 am

    I think that Ruby felt happy because in the text it said that she was happy to go to school and to learn to read. Also Ruby was the only one in the school the parents don’t let there kids go to school because they don’t like Rudy because she was black. if I was Ruby I whould be happy to go to school to learn.

    Lewis said:
    October 12, 2012 at 10:14 am

    Ruby Bridges

    I think Ruby Bridges was happy when she went to school, because she didn’t get to go to school in her old town also she was one of the four first black girls to go to an elementary school. I know this because in the text Ruby always came to school with a smile on her face. I know how this feels because when I went to my old school people would call me names and they wouldn’t let me play any games with them. My grandpa went to a residential school he would always get beat up and he wasn’t allowed to go to the bathroom but he just ignored them and he was still happy.

    Ethan.F said:
    October 12, 2012 at 10:14 am

    I think that Ruby Bridges felt calm when walking to the school, because in the text it said Ruby would have a smile on her face and she would walk right past the crowd of angry people. I think if Ruby wasn’t calm she might have run away instead of walking through the crowd.

    austin.d said:
    October 12, 2012 at 10:15 am

    I think that Ruby felt happy going to school because in the text it said, she was one of the four black kids to go to a white school, also ruby walked through the mob and into school with a smile on her face. If this was me I would be happy because I would feel safe with armed marshals beside me.

    yolanda said:
    October 12, 2012 at 10:16 am

    I think that Ruby Bridges felt happy to go to school by her self because in the text when she was walking in the mob of people, she had a smile on her face.

    Also, in the text she was learning in her class by herself she learnt to read and write by her self when she had nobody to be their to play with. So I think that she was happy to go to school by her self

    By Yolanda

    Shaynah said:
    October 12, 2012 at 10:16 am

    I think Ruby Bridges felt confident because in the text it said that Ruby always went to school with a big smile on her face.
    She was confident to learn, and to walk through that angry mob,
    To get into the school, just to learn. And I don’t think anyone would do that now days just to learn.

    I think that Ruby must have felt confident, because it takes confidence to walk through that mob, especially when they want to hurt you. Lots of confidence.

    tristan said:
    October 12, 2012 at 10:16 am

    I think Ruby Bridges felt happy because in the text it said that ruby came to school with a smile on her face and if she wasn’t happy she would not come to school with a smile on her face. If I was ruby I would be happy because I would be setting an example for other black people to be a leader.

    donte said:
    October 12, 2012 at 10:17 am

    I think Ruby felt happy going school because in the text it said she was one of the four black kids to go to a white school, and Ruby walked in to the school with a big smile on her face. So if she was sad she wouldn’t have a smile on her face. If I was Ruby, I would be happy because I would setting an example for other black people be a leader.

    kyle said:
    October 12, 2012 at 10:20 am

    I think ruby bridges felt calm because in the book ruby bridges ruby bridges stopped to pray in the middle of the mob. If I was ruby bridges stop in the med of the mob I would try to be calm too.

    willimnotok said:
    October 12, 2012 at 10:25 am

    Ruby Bridges was happy when she was walking thought the crowd of angry people because in the text she had a smile on her face every time she went .

      Thomas said:
      October 13, 2012 at 10:57 pm

      Own ideas??

    bradley said:
    October 12, 2012 at 10:29 am

    Ruby bridges

    I think Ruby bridges was happy to be the first black kid to go to an elementary school and I think she was happy to walk through the angry mob and in the text the angry mob some say they want to beat her up and they cursed her to but she was still happy she didn’t care what they said to her she just still walk through the angry mob but she was happy when she went into her class.

    kendra said:
    October 12, 2012 at 10:30 am

    Ruby bridges

    I think ruby bridges felt brave because in the text she kept going to school with a big smile on her face and never said anything to the crowed, even thought they were swearing, spiting and threatening to kill her. If I were ruby I would feel upset because there would be an angry crowed of people trying to kill me spiting and swearing at me.

    Alexis said:
    October 12, 2012 at 10:31 am

    Ruby bridges

    I think Ruby Brides felt confident. I think this because in the text it said that ruby went through the mob with confidence on her face. Also in the text it said that ruby when she went into the class she had a big smile on her face. If I was ruby brides I would not be confident because I would be so scared because the mob is searing and throwing stuff at you and I would not want to go to school.

    Markus said:
    October 12, 2012 at 11:56 am

    Ruby Bridges

    I think Ruby Bridges felt relaxed because she walked past the mob like nothing and in the text it said she went in the class room with no problem and she had a big smile on her face I think that because it said that in the book.

    Austin b said:
    October 12, 2012 at 11:59 am

    When Ruby Bridges went to that school she was the first black kid. When she is going to school she felt brave walking throw that mob in the text it said that when she walk throw that mob she was really brave it said In the text.

    When she got into the school she started doing work and she was really happy because she is at school her first time at school. And it takes skills to walk throw that mob I would not go to school anymore. I will not be brave ruby is brave.

Leave a Reply

