Darius Goes West Responses

Posted on Updated on

“I’m gonna live my life till I can’t live it no more.” 

Darius Weems

Darius Goes West was a very enlightening documentary about Muscular Dystrophy geared for young people. Today, I would like you to respond to some of my prompts listed below to this film. I want you to express your thoughts, feelings, and ideas from this documentary.

darius Click on the image to get to the Darius Goes West website.

What was the message of this film?

What did you learn?

How did you feel after watching this?

What was your favourite part or moment? Why?

What did you think of MTV’s decision not to participate in his dream of “Pimp my Wheelchair”?

What did Darius teach you about yourself?

15 thoughts on “Darius Goes West Responses

    bryce said:
    February 26, 2014 at 9:52 am

    I felt sad because he had this thing called Muscular Dystrophy and it kills most of the kids before the age of 20 and it makes me really sad that MTV just said no to pimp his wheel chair also i fell happy also because he got to discover the west.
    and he got a new cool wheel chair.

    madison said:
    February 26, 2014 at 9:53 am

    My favrite part of the movie was when Darius got his wheelchair.

    This movie taught me that no matter if you have DMD or not you can still do what you want.

    Brendan said:
    February 26, 2014 at 9:54 am

    I learned that the decease that Darius has that you only live until your 18 / 20.
    I felt happy for Darius because Darius got his wheelchair pimped out.
    My Favorite part of the film was when Darius went to the Grand Canyon.
    I think the message for this film is if you have a decease that doesn’t mean that you can’t do other stuff.

    tim said:
    February 26, 2014 at 9:54 am

    I think the message of the film is wheelchairs should be able to go anywhere like for an example the arch in the movie he cant go on top of it. also i learned that Darius said that most kids that are in wheelchairs don’t live past 20 or lower.and one last thing was my favorite part is when they got to California and reached their goal and also the grand canyon.

    Sylvia said:
    February 26, 2014 at 9:58 am

    How did you feel after watching this film?

    After watch ” Darius Goes West” I felt inspired. I felt inspired because Darius has a very bad disease that can kill him at or before the age of twenty years old. Even though it was hard for him to move and live with his disease, he still lived his life to the fullest. I know this because in the film, Darius travelled west even though it was a challenge for him. I love the fact that Darius always has a smile on his face even though he knows his life quite possible could be short.

    What was your favourite part of the film?

    My favourite part of ” Darius Goes West” was when everyone surprised Darius with a pimped wheelchair. I loved that part because I know it made Darius very happy by the look on his face, and staying positive can really help you live a better life. I know this because in the text, Darius went West for three weeks, and I always saw a smile on his face. if I were Darius, I know it would be very hard to stay positive knowing you won’t live much longer, that’s why i thought it was so awesome that everyone made Darius so happy by giving him what he’s always wanted.

    marta said:
    February 26, 2014 at 10:00 am

    After watching “Darius goes west” I almost cried. Because Darius really inspires children with dmd.He also tells people that life should be lived with happiness no matter what happens.

    My favorite part in “Darius goes west” was when he saw the ocean for the first time.Because its just so sweet that his friends would do all that for him.Also, feeling the water lifting him for the first time is just so nice to see.

      Mr. Purdon responded:
      February 26, 2014 at 10:02 am

      I’m totally with you Marta. This is such a sad, yet happy story. I can’t imagine being as positive as him, knowing my certain future.

    Daniel said:
    February 26, 2014 at 10:02 am

    I think the message of the movie was to show courage because in the movie Darius has enough courage to go to MTV despite him having muscular Dystrophy a disorder that kills children in their late teens or early 20s. Darius also has to go to MTV in a wheelchair and travel a far away from his home showing he has Persistence and alot of Courage. Also Darius wanted to go out in the world and explore it in the short life he’ll have.

    Rameen said:
    February 26, 2014 at 10:05 am

    Darius goes west

    1. My favourite part of Darius goes west is when he went to different places with his friends such as, the beach, canion, and a museum type cave where he saw ancient walls and other. Also my other favourite part was when Darius got his new wheel chair and the wheel chair had all kinds of different gadgets like a mini TV screen, PSP 2, a I pod and big stereos.
    2. I thought of MTV’s decision of not making Darius’s dream of having “pimp my ride” come true on MTV was mean because Darius only wanted his song on their TV show but the MTV people didn’t think of his being on a wheel chair and had a disease and he only asked one thing, he wanted to have his song on MTV. So I think they are being pretty mean to him in my point of view.

    By: Rameen

    Jewel said:
    February 26, 2014 at 10:05 am

    Darius Goes West Response
    By: Chloe & Jewel
    The message in this film is “Even though you have a disability or disease, you can still do what you want to do.”

    We learned that there is a disease called Muscular Dystrophy and affects your Muscular System. We also learned that Darius’ brother, Mario, died at age 19 from this disease.

    Our feelings after watching this were sad and happy. We felt sad after watching this movie because we felt bad for Darius since he lost his brother and he might die because of his symptom. We also felt happy because Darius was able to travel the U.S.A. and concur his dream.

    Our favourite part was when two of Darius’ friends pretended to be desperate house wives and when Darius got his new wheelchair.

    WE THOUGHT THAT MTV MADE A JERKY MOVE BECAUSE THEY DON’T UNDERSTAND HOW IT IS TO BE IN A WHEELCHAIR!!!

    Darius taught us to always follow our dreams.

    Kiara:) said:
    February 26, 2014 at 10:06 am

    I learned that Muscular Dystrophy is a severe disease that children die from at an early age and there is no cure for it. Muscular Dystrophy is when you can’t move some part in your body. What I also learned is that Darius has Muscular Dystrophy and he’s helping to cure it or help raise money to research it. Darius got to meet one of the Desperate Housewives and got to go on set of Desperate Housewives. Darius went traveling around America to go West to get his wheelchair pimped and go their show to get Darius’ message out but MTV didn’t want him too.

    brad said:
    February 26, 2014 at 10:09 am

    Darius goes west

    I think Darius goes west is a good movie, but I think the message of the movie is it’s about a teen named Darius who is sick.

    After watching this I feel sad for Darius because he has DMD..

    taylor said:
    February 26, 2014 at 10:10 am

    I think the message of the movie is that the disease can kill kids under the age of 20 and Darius didn’t care he just kept on going west and never gave up. I learn that the disease is really dangerous and kills kids that are young and it is common and dangerous.

    elyse said:
    February 26, 2014 at 10:12 am

    1.Nothings impossible.
    2.I think Darius is a lucky boy because most kid’s in wheelchairs don’t get this chant’s.
    3.Happy and sad all at the same time.
    4.When Darius got his knew wheelchair because it was happy and sad all at the same time.
    5.I they should have helped Darius.

    Caleb said:
    February 26, 2014 at 10:21 am

    Maybe the message in the movie Darius Goes West is to raise awareness of the disease that Darius has and to make him be happy and do what he always wanted to do.

    I learned what Darius’s disease is…We are all happy Darius is still alive.

Leave a Reply

