An Angel for Solomon Singer

Posted on Updated on

An Angel for Solomon Singer is one of my favourite rich texts that I read to my students. It has as many questions as it does answers, and has amazing pictures to go along with the story. We have already discussed a few ideas and questions around this text, but I have a few more for you to contemplate and answer. 

Pick two to answer from below. Please state the question in your answer so everyone knows what you are writing about.

1. In the book, how did the streets become like fields, the buildings like stars, and the voices like crickets? Did these things actually change, or did something else change? Use evidence from the text and your own ideas to support your thinking.

2. In what ways does Solomon take a journey in the story? In what ways is his journey external, and in what ways is it internal (within himself)? Use information from the text and your own ideas to support your thinking.

3. Why does Solomon become happier by the end of the story, even though most of his dreams have not come true? Use evidence from the text and your own ideas to support your thinking.

4. What does it mean to be “a wanderer by nature?” Do you like “wandering?” Describe a time when you wandered. Explain where it was was, why you wandered, and how you felt.

solomon

21 thoughts on “An Angel for Solomon Singer

    Irelynn :D said:
    March 11, 2015 at 9:03 am

    An Angel for Solomon Singer
    I think Solomon becomes happier at the end because of one of his dreams came true by getting a cat and sneaking it into his hotel room and its one of his dreams he wanted to come true and he has wanted a cat in his dreams. And I know this because in the text Solomon Singer wanted a cat in the start of the book and I think it’s what made him happier and not so lonely.

    I think ‘’a wanderer by nature’’ means to just wander around freely and not care about what’s going on and maybe just wander like animals in nature because animals wander freely don’t they? Yes I do like wandering because you just feel calm and free and you don’t have so much on your mind. I have wandered off somewhere at camp and it was just really nice because it was just peaceful and quiet.
    (Questions 3 and 4)
    By Irelynn 

    Dylan Dolph said:
    March 11, 2015 at 9:41 am

    He think that dreams are real because he believe it’s real and he think that the felds
    Are nice and the burn home is nice and the cat made him happy because was like a friend to him and he was happyand he like wandered around the city and like to go to the westway Cafe.

    Josh said:
    March 11, 2015 at 9:46 am

    An Angel for Solomon Singer

    Q 1: The streets became fields, the voices were like crickets, and the buildings were stars because in the text Solomon thinks of New York City as his childhood home in Indiana. Everyone thinks of the same stuff differently because we are all unique. Solomon was imagining Indiana in New York City because he missed it so much and that he was sad.

    Q 4: It means to be “a wanderer by nature” because I like wandering in the woods out at one of my relatives’ house looking for animals. It means a lot to you because if you live in a noisy city like New York, you want to go to the woods for peace and quiet. You might also see an animal you have never seen before in your life.

    Chloe said:
    March 11, 2015 at 9:49 am

    Solomon Singer

    I think that being a wanderer by nature means loving to explore the outdoors and wandering outside when you just need to relax. I personally don’t like wandering since I live in the city, though when I lived at my old house out in Shuniah, I would go for walks down the beach, in the woods, or when I was younger and wasn’t allowed to leave the yard, I would just walk around by the gardens. When I wandered it would probably because one, I was bored and I wanted to be outside, or two, I just needed to calm myself. The first reason is mostly why I wandered. I never really got that stressed or angry out in Shuniah, but when I came back from just a normal walk, I would feel way better.

    I think that Solomon took many adventures in this book, even though it may not seem like it. For example, when Solomon Singer went to the Westway Café more and more often, he began to see the streets as fields and the buildings as stars. He described it as being like his home in Indiana. He also heard the busy crowds of people like the chirping of crickets. That would be quite an adventure, though he was only walking to a café. I think that Solomon had an adventure from inside of him because when he was seeing the landscape as Indiana. He created that from inside of him, which made it a journey from the inside out.

    By: Chloe

    zakponka said:
    March 11, 2015 at 9:52 am

    Solomon’s external journey was when he went to the westway café and met Angel, and his internal journey was going through fields of wheat and hearing the sound of the crickets in the fields of wheat, and the reason he had an external journey and an internal journey was because he was trying to imagine what it would be like back at home.
    I think the reason Solomon is happier by the end of the story because he starts to realize that everything around him is just like at home, so that makes him realize that he should be happy with what he has even though his dreams didn’t come true.

    marta said:
    March 11, 2015 at 10:01 am

    I think that the streets became fields and the buildings became stars because Solomon was imagining he was in Indiana. I know this because in the text when he was wandering through the streets he was thinking about his childhood. He remembered that Indiana was famous for wandering; he wanted the streets to become fields and the buildings as stars. This did not change in reality, but, it did change the way he thought about things.
    I think a wanderer by nature is someone who grew up with the need to wander. I have once wandered before; it was when me and my family were taking a hike in a gorge in Romania. I felt free spirited and open-minded. I wandered because, we were up in the mountains, I heard running water, and it was a nice sunny day.

    maddy said:
    March 11, 2015 at 10:05 am

    I think Solomon was happier at the end because he found a place he loves called the west way cafe. I know this because in the text Solomon said he loves this cafe because it reminds him of his home in Indiana. This shows that Solomon singer became happy at the end of the text.

    I think to be a wanderer by nature is to be happy about nature. Yes,I do like to wander because one time i was walking with my dad and we were going to the store we went to the store to grab a snack but instead we went to the movies and then after the movies we went to my grandmas house then after that we got to go get ice cream.So after all of that I felt like a free spirit.

    Sylvia said:
    March 11, 2015 at 10:06 am

    An Angel for Solomon Singer

    3. Why does Solomon become happier by the end of the story, even though most of his dreams have not come true? Use evidence from the text and your own ideas to support your thinking.

    2. In what ways does Solomon take a journey in the story? In what ways is his journey external, and in what ways is it internal (within himself)? Use information from the text and your own ideas to support your thinking.

    In the text An Angel for Solomon Singer I think Solomon Singer became happier by the end of the text because in he found a place where he felt at home. I know this because in the text, Solomon didn’t feel like he was at home because he didn’t have all the things that he wished he could have such as a fireplace, and a balcony. He felt lonely where he was, so he would most often wander in the streets at night, but while he was wandering, he found a place called the Westway Café. There he found a place where he like he was at home. Therefore, this shows that Solomon Singer felt happier at the end because he found a place where he felt at home.

    In the text An Angel for Solomon Singer I think Solomon took a journey in outdoors and within himself by exploring New York City. I know this because in the text, Solomon didn’t feel comfortable and he didn’t feel at home where he lived, but when he was wandering in the streets of New York, he felt “As if he were still a boy.” Also, Solomon had a journey with himself when he found the Westway Café, and also when he was exploring New York. Therefore, this shows that Solomon had a journey both with himself and externally by discovering the streets of New York.

    By Sylvia

    Autumn said:
    March 11, 2015 at 10:08 am

    Solomon Singer was imagining that the buildings became stars, the voices became crickets and how streets became fields. They didn’t actually change, Solomon Singer was making it seem as if he was home and every time he would walk to West Way Cafe he would feel like he is. He would get the same greeting from Angel that his mom and dad use to say. That made him feel home.

    Keira said:
    March 11, 2015 at 10:10 am

    3. Why does Solomon become happier by the end of the story, even though most of his dreams have not come true? Use evidence from the text and your own ideas to support your thinking.
    1. In the book, how did the streets become like fields, the buildings like stars, and the voices like crickets? Did these things actually change, or did something else change? Use evidence from the text and your own ideas to support your thinking
    An Angel for Solomon Singer
    3. I think that in the text An Angel for Solomon Singer, Solomon was happy at the end even though he didn’t get all the things that he wanted, because he finally found a place that he could call home. I know this because in the text Solomon missed his home. He said that he missed the starry night sky, the grassy meadows, and the crickets that chirped at night. He was homesick. Everything was different where he lived. But then he found the Westway café, a place that reminded him of his home in Indiana. Since the reason that Solomon was sad was because he was homesick, he started to get happier (Because the café reminded him of home.) So because Solomon found a place that he loved and could call home, he was happy, because everyone who has a home, or a place that feels like home, is happy. That is why Solomon was happier at the end of the text.

    1. I think that in the text An Angel for Solomon Singer, Solomon started to see things like they were in Indiana, like how the streetlights became stars, because he finally found a place that he loved. In the text, (Like I said in the last paragraph), Solomon was rather homesick because he missed everything that he loved about his home. But, when he found the Westway Café, a place that reminded him of his home, things started changing. Street lights became stars, chatting people became chirping crickets, and streets became meadows. In think this is because when he was at the café that reminded him of home, it reminded him so much of home, and made him so happy, that he started to see things in a different light. It made him capable to see his home in New York. That is why I think that nothing actually changed in New York, but Solomon started to see things in a different light.

    Connor said:
    March 11, 2015 at 10:11 am

    An Angel for Solomon Singer

    (3) Solomon becomes happier by the end of the story even though his dreams didn’t come true because he didn’t feel so lonely. I know this because in the text it said he went to Westway Café for a year. He talks to the waiter (Angel) to order his food every time. So I think while he was there he socialized with other people witch made feel not so lonely because it said in beginning of the text that he was lonely and it made go on the streets every night. So that’s why Solomon became happier by the end of story.

    (1) In the text, “streets became fields, the buildings become stars, and the voices like crickets” because, his new home felt like his old home in Indiana. Where there is tons and tons of open ground. I’m just thinking that he lived in one of those independent open fields with his family and don’t forget this happen in the middle of the story so something had to trigger it. Also, nothing really changed, all Solomon did is Look differently at the place he lived and it became somewhere he liked.

    Lucas said:
    March 11, 2015 at 10:12 am

    The question I’m going to choose is in the book how did the streets become like fields, the buildings like stars, and the voices like crickets I think the streets didn’t actually turn into fields and the buildings turn into stars or the voices like crickets I don’t think that actually happened because he was just imagining that was happening I know this because in the text Solomon wanted to go home to Indiana so that’s why he was imagining fields, stars, and voices like crickets. This is why I think he this didn’t actually happen.
    The next question I’m going to do is why does Solomon become happier by the end of the story even though most of his dreams have not come true? I think he got happier even through his dreams didn’t come true because when he was at the West way cafe he felt like he was at home I know this because in the text Solomon it said “walking into the west way cafe, he felt at home as he did in Indiana”.

    jorja said:
    March 11, 2015 at 10:15 am

    I think Solomon gets happier by the end of the story because he got to go to the Westway Café and eat supper every night. And he got to see the waiter that is named Angel, he got to wish something at the Westway Café every night.
    I think in the text the streets became like fields, the buildings are like stars, and the voices are like crickets because Solomon went to the Westway Café the waiter Angel was taking his order every time the waiter Angel was wishing that too and it might feel like a home to him.

    maria said:
    March 11, 2015 at 10:15 am

    An Angel For Solomon

    I think wander means to me is, walking and pretending you’re in of your dreams. This one time happened to me, when I was really tried of waiting, so I decided to close my eyes for awhile… This happened at my auntie’s house. I felt like I was dreaming. I wandered because, I was bored of waiting. This is what happened to me when I was wandering.

    I think Solomon Singer is happier in the end because, he kept going to the West Café each night, and at the last night, Solomon Singer saw a house that was glowing, and then he went inside of the house. At the end of the story Solomon Singer was holding a orange cat…

    sierra said:
    March 11, 2015 at 10:18 am

    Solomon singer
    3. I think Solomon singer is happy at the end of the book because before he started going to the westway café he wasn’t happy so that means whenever he’s at the westway café he’s happy because the westway café is his home and it reminds him of Indiana and whenever he sees the westway café he sees his old house that he grew up in.
    4. I think Solomon likes to wander because he doesn’t like his home and it’s something to do or he just wants to kill time before he has to walk to the westway café. I like to wander around sometimes too because sometimes we have really warm and sunny days like this one time me and my cousin wandered around in the summer at the abanded town in Armstrong or people call it the base, its kind of weird because you can hear people walking around but there’s never anyone when you look but the base used to be an army place so that’s probably why they evacuated everyone to whitesand a long time ago. But it was really fun going up the old towers.

    Cheryl said:
    March 11, 2015 at 10:20 am

    An Angel for Solomon singer

    I think Solomon becomes happier by the ending of the story even though his dreams didn’t come true because, he imagined. This shows in the text when Solomon realizes that the Westway Café was the perfect place for him. He realized this when the waiter “Angel” tells him that you can order dreams here, and she really appreciated him going there. But even though his dreams didn’t come true, he knew this was the right place for him, And that he will be happy coming here.
    I think “wanderer by nature” means when you want to wander in the nature because you are inspired on how beautiful it sounds and looks. This one time I was wandering in the forest, at my home town which is two hours away from here. I felt wonderful when I was wandering I even found mushrooms. The thing is when you wander you may get lost, but it is an amazing feeling, to just get away from the city or people.

    muftah said:
    March 11, 2015 at 10:21 am

    I think Solomon is happy because he saw some of the things he wanted to see. Like the weat fields, and some were for him to go to like in the text the streets have changed and seemed to move along with him, and the waiter that has the name Angel greeted him and made him feel at home.
    I think the word “a wanderer by nature’’ means someone who really likes to wander around in nature. Yes I do like to wander I wander at school only at the end of the day (2:40) and it feels nice.

    sadie said:
    March 11, 2015 at 10:23 am

    Solomon becomes happier even though his dreams didn’t came true because, Solomon goes to eat at a restaurant named Westway café, and he met a waiter named Angel. He is happier there because in the text it says that Solomon wished to have a room with a balcony and a fireplace and other things that houses have. When he started to go eat at the Westway Café, the waiter made him happy by making his day so he doesn’t need the stuff that he wished for and all that’s left on his list is a painted wall.

    ervin said:
    March 11, 2015 at 10:24 am

    An angel for Solomon singer

    3. I think that Solomon became happier because some of his dreams came true for Solomon because he did some thing right for his life and he seen a little cat in the Streets so he took it to his hotel and buys him food to eat and milk to drink so he can grow up into a big cat and one of his dream is two get two cups of coffee so he can put a smile in his face and he can get some soup to eat and the other one is that he sneak a cat in the hotel and he seen the westway café and one of his dream came true because he’s from the west so that is why he goes to westway café and he eats there ever time to go eat their and that’s when he seen a little cat in the side of the street.

    2. I think that way because he was wondering around to find a hotel and then he seen a café a and then he seen the name of the café a its w=name way westway café and that’s how he seen the café a then he seen a hotel he buy a room to sleep in but when he wanted to buy a pet then when he asked a owner of the hotel the hotel owner said no pets allowed in the hotel he sneaked a cat in the hotel.

    By Ervin

    Jewel said:
    March 11, 2015 at 10:24 am

    An Angel for Solomon Singer
    Question 1.
    I think that in An Angel for Solomon Singer, Solomon started to see things like Indiana. I know this because in the text, the Westway Café became the place that Solomon loves, and Solomon loves his home and when he looked out at New York, he saw things differently, the streets became fields like the fields back in Indiana, the buildings became stars like the stars he would see every night because he lived out in the country and the lights in buildings look like stars when you’re standing at a far, reasonable distance, and the conversations of people in the distance probably sounded like crickets in Solomon’s mind because he was thinking of Indiana so he probably heard crickets, and he saw the Westway Café as home because the Westway Café treated him nicely and made sure he was comfortable their, just like home. The city didn’t change, but his point of view changed when he looked out at the city, he noticed that New York can feel just like home.

    Question 3.
    I think Solomon Singer became happier by the ending of this story is because he pictured the Westway Café as his home back in Indiana. I know this because in the text by the ending of the story, he only wanted was a home like his home back in Indiana. When Solomon Singer went to the Westway Café, Angel (a waiter) greeted him nicely just like how his parents used to greet him at his home back in Indiana when he was a boy. Solomon didn’t need his dreams to come true, he just needed someone or something to remind him of his home. Also, in the text at the end of the story, it mentions that Solomon had found a place he loves (the Westway Café) and that if you come across the Westway Café, Angel will take your order, Solomon will smile and make you feel like you are at home. In the end, Solomon’s dreams didn’t need to come true, as long as he’s at the Westway Café and pictures it like Indiana, he’ll be at home.

    I know my answers might be a little wrong, but please reply and correct my mistakes by replying! Thanks!

    By Jewel

    Jayvis said:
    March 11, 2015 at 10:25 am

    In the book I think Solomon singer lived in a men’s hotel after he dream of the stuff he loved then he went outside, wandered around then found a small restaurant then went inside, then opened up a folder then ordered something, as he always goes to the restaurant, then as walked back to his hotel then he imagined there was fields as he walked back but he had one of his dreams were true, he snuck a cat in his hotel room.

Leave a Reply

