Voices in the Park and Point of View

Posted on

We have spent a great deal of time looking at Anthony Browne’s book Voices in the Park this week. Our biggest learning was about point of view and perspective. We saw how one event can look so different to each individual. We learned that it is important to think of another’s perspective in order to better understand their actions and thinking. As a concluding activity I would like us to answer at least one or as many of the questions below to get you to express your opinion and ideas in writing.

 

voices

 

 

1. Whose point of view is missing from this book? What would their point of view be like for this event in the park? Use information from the text and your own ideas to support your thinking.

2. Explain why the perspectives of the four characters is so different for this event. What may be behind the different points of view? Use information from the text and your own ideas to support your thinking.

3. Which character are you most like and why? Use examples from the text and your own ideas to support your thinking.

4. How do the illustrations help show the point of view of each character? Use examples from the text and your own ideas to support your thinking.

5. What do you think is the symbolism or meaning of all the hats in Charles’s voice? Why are all the clouds, a tree, and the lamp posts all shaped like his mother’s hat? Use information from the text and your own ideas to support your thinking.

22 thoughts on “Voices in the Park and Point of View

    Dylan said:
    March 4, 2016 at 11:56 am

    i think that the point of veiw thats missing is the dogs because everyone’s point of view is there except the dogs and the moms.i think the dogs pint of view would be oh me and albert were having fun playing in the park

    crystal said:
    March 4, 2016 at 12:07 pm

    I think I am most like Smudge. I think this because, in the text, she makes a tea for her dad after they went to the park and that shows that she is empathetic. I think that I am like smudge because, she also likes to play with people who look lonely and who she thinks look sad and just needs a bit of cheering up. Also, she gets lots of love from her dad and she makes him happier and I like to make my dad happy when he is feeling down. She also, has lots of good qualities such as, is always happy with her dad and people she meets even if they are rude. She gets a lot of attention from her dad as well as her dog, Albert. That is why I think I am most like Smudge.

      Mr. Purdon responded:
      March 4, 2016 at 12:09 pm

      Great evidence and own ideas to back up your thinking Crystal! 🙂

    HarmonyPaavola said:
    March 4, 2016 at 12:08 pm

    I’m gonna do 3. Because why? Im gonna be matched with Smugde, we both have the same personality like.
    Outgoing, bright colors, see everything different, making people happy! Joyful, A smile, making new friends. This is why I’m Smugde. When ever someone is upside down. That means someone is sad. I’m always there to help then out! She’s happy, I’m happy. Like how Smugde made Charles happy for a while, until he had to leave. Like how when they played at the park. When they met.

    Seija said:
    March 4, 2016 at 12:09 pm

    3. I think I’m more like Father because I’m lazy, I try to bring my brother to the Marina everyday if it’s not cold out and Father is like that in the book because he was sitting on his couch all lazy and was thinking if he should bring Smudge and Albert to the park for a little walk and he was try to look for a job in the newspaper while Smudge and Albert were playing. But I also think I’m kinda like Mother to because I can get bossy, snobby, and mean but I don’t treat my family like a dog I treat them like humans, and I sometimes be snobby to my mom when she asks me to put the laundry in the dryer or do the dishes but then I always forgive her, and I’m also mean because when someone makes me mad I start calling them names and start yelling at them. Mother is like that because in the book she was treating Charles like he was the dog and like the dog was her son, and she is always snobby to Charles and other people, and finally Mother is mean because she tries to act like she is all fancy and when she sees other people wearing old baggy clothes she would call them names.
    -Seija

      Mr. Purdon responded:
      March 4, 2016 at 12:12 pm

      Excellent examples and arguments as to why you are like the dad and mom Seija! 🙂

    cayla said:
    March 4, 2016 at 12:10 pm

    The four perspective are so different because everyone sees the world differently.
    For example,Charles is lonely and sad because they way his mom treats him.
    Smudge see it differently because her dad gives her love and attention, so now she’s not lonely and that’s why she’s so happy.
    The dad sees it differently because he doesn’t have much hope, so he see everything sad, that’s what I do sometimes when i’m sad.
    The Mom sees the world differently because she rich, she thinks she good that’s why she’s a snob.
    She’s not empathetic

      Mr. Purdon responded:
      March 4, 2016 at 12:11 pm

      Nice use of examples from the text.

    Jacqueline said:
    March 4, 2016 at 12:10 pm

    I think the point of view missing from the book is the dogs in the book because they say there names and that there in the book but the author didn’t add in the dogs point of view and I think what there point of views would be like the dogs running in the park and walking with there owner and running in the park with the kids and the dogs going home with the owners and lastly, I know this because in the book it showed the dogs running with the kids and chasing the other dogs and going home with the owners.

    taylor said:
    March 4, 2016 at 12:11 pm

    The meaning behind Charles the way he talks and sees the world is due to his emotions. Almost everywhere lamp post, clouds, even the top of the pillars, next to the gate there is mother’s hat. I believe Charles is depressed because his mother never lets him play with other children he gets almost no time from his mom she cares more about the dog when he is around someone that is a child he gets happy but that is his way of not being depressed so by mom doing that Charles is back to his lonely old self because of his mother. Charles sounds never happy it is that all ways that he was depressed so he sounds sad all the time it was the way that they let us know it is cloudy and mucky and just looking horribly for him but everyone else not everyone is happy all the time.

    Troy said:
    March 4, 2016 at 12:12 pm

    5. The reason Charles saw his moms hats everywhere is because he is afraid of his mum. He feels like shes everywhere and overpowering him. Like shes following him. Hes afraid of his mom because she is very rude to him and treats him like a dog and treats Victoria, the dog better. Shes always yelling at him and doesn’t let him do anything. I think I would be scarred of her if i was him.

    4. I think the illustrations show the characters point of view with cool colors for Dad and Charles because they are very sad and depressed. The artist shows very bright colors for Mom and Smudge because they are very happy. They also put sad items for Charles and Dad and very silly items for Smudge and mom. I think this is how the artist shows point of view because even though Smudge and Mom are in the same place as Charles and Dad they see the world different with happy colors and silly things. Also the font changes between characters so that is a way to show how there feeling or there point of view.

      Mr. Purdon responded:
      March 4, 2016 at 12:13 pm

      Great thinking Troy!

      Layne said:
      March 4, 2016 at 12:16 pm

      🙂

    Layne said:
    March 4, 2016 at 12:12 pm

    I think the illustrations help show the point of view of each character by using dark/cool colors for dad and Charles because they are sad and depressed and I know that symbolizes sadness and depression. Then there was bright/warm colors for mom and Smudge because they are happy and joyful and I know that symbolizes happiness and joyfulness.

      Mr. Purdon responded:
      March 4, 2016 at 12:13 pm

      Good examples from the text.

    stacylee said:
    March 4, 2016 at 12:12 pm

    I think the point of view that is missing is the dogs because most of the people have a point of view but the dogs are just there and dont have a point of view like Smudge or Charles and also the Mom should also have more of a point of view because in the text she only like talks one or two times. but if the dogs were to have a point of view i think it would be Victoria come jump this park bench or something like that. And if the Mom was to have a point of view I think it would be something like Charles come sit down this instant or something like that.

    Alec said:
    March 4, 2016 at 12:13 pm

    The character thats most like me is smudge because we are both happy . she is playful and i am playful too we both are athletic. and we both arn’t shy. we are also kind to others. some times if someone is feeling down i try to cheer them up like smudge tryed to cheer up her dad. sometimes i can be in another world if i am having lots of fun. smudge is in her own world sometimes she imagines some other stuff are different compared to charles.

    Nathan Chambers said:
    March 4, 2016 at 12:13 pm

    The past three days my class has been reading a book called Voices In The Park. One of the tasks we had to do was relate who you were like in the book. In the book I think I was like Smudge because in the book Smudge started playing with a boy that was not very happy and lonely and cheered the boy up. I cheer people up and I’m willing to play or meet someone new. Also in the text Smudge was kind and happy and most of the time I’m kind and happy and also caring.

    By: Nathan Chambers

    liette said:
    March 4, 2016 at 12:14 pm

    3. I think I’m Smudge because I am happy most of the time and I like to cheer up people if they are not happy like Smudge when her dad was sad on the way home smudge made him a little happier. Sometimes I ask people if they want to do something if they are new and if they are shy like smudge when she was sitting beside Charles she asked him if he wants to play on the slide and he said yes. Smudge didn’t stereo type before she asked Charles she just asked him she didn’t care what he looked like and I do that when someone is new to the school. Smudge doesn’t care what she looks like and she just wears anything and that’s what I do also smudge does a lot of nice things like make tea for her dad I did that before and smudge loves her dad and I love my dad and she would do anything to make him happy same as me.
    -Liette

      Mr. Purdon responded:
      March 4, 2016 at 12:15 pm

      Good arguments Liette. Very strong.

    austin said:
    March 4, 2016 at 12:16 pm

    How the illustrations show the point of view for the voices is for the father he is sad, bored so everything is dark, cold, depressing and boring. the trees have no leaves on them. For Smudge she is happy so she sees trees as fruits and the nucleuer reactor like a castle.

    Anne said:
    March 4, 2016 at 12:19 pm

    I think the point of view from the the dogs is missing. I think their day would probably go like this, today Charles’ Mother took us out for a walk Charles looked terribly bored. At the park a dog came up to me he looked really friendly. He said his name was Albert. Albert sniffed my bum I didn’t mind at all, but Mistress did mind. She yelled at him for it, sometimes she can a really silly twit. After that we started to play tag together, it was really fun! I noticed that Charles started to play with another girl. Albert explained that the girl was his master’s daughter Smudge. “That’s an odd name.” I say. Just then he dives into a giant bowl of water. “By the way what is your name?” “Victoria” I tell him. After a while Mistress calls me and Charles over. I hope that Albert will be there next time. This is what I think the trip to the park would have looked like for Victoria.

Leave a Reply

